Cotton · Fashion · Fashion revolution · Hand Made · Hand painted · I made my clothes · I made my shoes · One of those days · Polyester · shoes · Silk · Sustainable · Workshop

How to be a 2017 Fashion Revolutionary in 10 simple steps

Are you a fashion revolutionary, what is that I hear most of you say……. and while I ask you this question…….. ‘have you even heard of this movement?’ comes to my mind.

I am kind a guessing not as many people have of heard of this international movement, Fashion Revolution as I would like.

IMG_0869

Why do we need a Fashion Revolution?


On 24 April 2013, 1,134 people were killed and over 2,500 were injured when the Rana Plaza complex collapsed in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

That’s when Fashion Revolution was born.

We believe that 1,134 is too many people to lose from the planet in one factory on one terrible day to not stand up and demand change.

Fashrev_impact_2

On 24 April every year, Fashion Revolution Day brings people from all over the world together to use the power of fashion to change the story for the people who make the world’s clothes. We want fashion to become a force for good.

We believe in an industry that values people, the environment,
creativity and profit in equal measure.

Our mission is to bring everyone together to make that happen.

 So……. with all this in mind and with April nearly upon us, ….. well its tomorrow as I am writing this, I’m thinking, I’d be a fool if I didn’t get my post out on time.

Below is a top ten list of what YOU can do this month to promote the ideal of reducing the amount we buy, learning to buy for your our own style (these items always last longer in our wardrobe), and buy quality instead of quantity.

One thing that grates me, infuriates me and goes against everything my parents taught me is this throw away mentality Both my parents taught me to buy quality clothing, clothes that I love and clothes that I could wear forever,… or until they are thread bear. When I see hundreds of posts and news articles about clearing out your wardrobe of clothes your haven’t worn in a year or 2….. NOOOOOOO stop, it takes that long for the trend machine to do its 360 turn around.

Have you ever thrown something out to only wish you hadn’t as its bang on trend the next season. I feel for you, so I have added a great go to, how to understand the trend cycle.

Laver’s Law is the perfect reference on how to understand the cycle of trends and I am totally committed to my own style, I buy clothes that I love, only. There are certain fabrics I hate like Rayon (only for casual oversized clothes as it the most reliable fabric to shrink in the wash.)  

Image sourced from an article By Denise Winterman
BBC News Magazine   
The life cycle of a fashion trend.
Page last updated at 11:01 GMT, Tuesday, 22 September 2009 12:01 UK                  Lavers Law Image for fashion revolution blog april 2017

 

Your top 10 things to do during 2017 Fashion Revolution

  1. Make a pattern of your own, have you got something you love to wear. Why not try copying the garment onto brown paper and make a version of your own. Or if this is too hard buy a paper pattern and make your own clothes,…. now known as slow fashion.
  2. Make some shoes. Check out my Sandal Making workshops or my eBooks coming soon and available to purchase on line shortly. We have an official event on the Fashion Revolution Australia Facebook page to coincide with the 24th – 30th Fashion Revolution week.
  3. Check out the Story of stuff videos and join the movement.
  4. Another website to visit is The 2016 Australian Fashion Report, The truth behind the barcode by Baptist World Aid. Be an informed shopper, each year this report is published more manufacturers and retailers are getting on board and becoming transparent with who and how they manufacture their goods. Register for the newsletter and you may also want to request the booklet. Its brilliant and just a little bit disturbing.
  5. Labels who encourage a transparent dialogue of where their garments are made, who makes them and why they are great. The most exciting label is Everlane, register for their newsletter and they update you with all the new goodies and manufacturers. In my 20 odd years in the rag trade, I have never seen a clothing label give so much information away. The work refreshing comes to mind … 
  6. Turn your clothes inside out and take a Selfie of you in your clothes and add these pics to the comments section below with #fashionrevolution #theporcelaintree
  7. Make do & mend your clothes, this started during the second world war. If zipper breaks or buttons come off, fix them yourself or take them to your local dry cleaners or alteration store. Keep your eye for my zipper and button blog posts in the near future.
  8. Learn to sew, either online or check out your local workshops or colleges. Hand sewing or on the machine. Before the sewing machine was invented Englishman Thomas Saint in 1790, all seams were hand stitched. Yep by hand, tiny little even stitches. This is what ladies spent their time doing apparently. Imagine…
  9. Reduce synthetics in your clothing choice, after watching this you might be convinced by why I have added this disturbing report. ABC Catalyst Micro Plastics
  10. Check out your 2nd hand shops in your local area, check out the fashion trend forums on Pinterest and learn how to create your own style and buy clothes you love. These Fashion Wardrobe challengers are coming soon in the month of April / May / June in time for Winter.

Well today is a weird day, Cyclone Debbie has just finished casting her rage on my local community and I am stranded at home from work and life outside. I have decided to finish writing this blog post. I would love to hear your feedback if any and would love to see if you any more information on this sustainable ideal when it comes to fashion / clothing / life.

And remember…….

Leave a Reply

